Tasty Tuesday: Smoothie Time

Apologies. It is, in fact, Wednesday. I’ve been in a very transitional time in my life though, so please bear, or bare… whatever your style… with me. I’m moving again this weekend; it’s getting a bit too often for my taste this past year. This week’s recipe is very quick and requires no cooking.

I’ve loved smoothies even since before I got my Vitamix, which is amazing (the Vitamix, not my love of smoothies). I never understood why someone would pay that much for a blender until my parents got me one for Christmas, but truly it is a fantastic, magical thing. And I love it and I use it every day til death do us part. Smoothies are a very tasty, easy way to get loads of fruits and veggies into your diet, and it’s always a good idea to eat more fruits and veggies. Your skin will be nicer; you’ll feel better, more energetic; your digestion will work better, thanks to fiber and enzymes. For me, this is the main function of a smoothie, but a smoothie can also serve as a meal replacement, which is great because it’s much faster than, say, cooking breakfast. The key to making sure you stay full is to include fat and protein. With that, I give you my modified green protein smoothie. It was inspired by a new cookbook that my mom got me, The Oh She Glows Cookbook, which I highly recommend (also a great blog)!

 photo 2 (1)  photo 1 (1)

You’ve got loads of protein and fat with the almond butter and hemp hearts, additional fat with the avocado, and additional protein with protein powder and spirulina. Add more protein powder, almond butter, or hemp hearts to make the smoothie more filling. Coconut water and banana are loaded with potassium. Spirulina, blue green algae, is a complete protein, contains bio-available iron, B-12, and loads of other minerals and antioxidants. Great building blocks for your body, skin and hair, and good fats to keep things plump and hydrated!

1/2 cup coconut water

1 cup vanilla almond milk or other nondairy milk

1/2 avocado

1 banana

1 cup of greens (like baby kale and baby spinach)

1 cup of ice

1 tbsp protein powder (I like PlantFusion)

1 tbsp hemp hearts

1 tsp almond butter

1 tsp spirulina powder

1 pinch of himalayan sea salt

Optional: 1/2 cup frozen pineapple and/or tbsp maple syrup (this smoothie really is not sweet at all, unless you use sweetened almond milk, so this is a good way to add more flavor)

One thought on “Tasty Tuesday: Smoothie Time

Leave a Reply

