Updates and Beauty Haul

So big things have been happening! And not just in life, but also in The Goat Skin World! Here’s a bit of an update on the past week.

IMG_5204
Aloe There, I’m obsessed.
Since going to Costa Rica, I’ve consistently kept using Lily of the Desert aloe vera gelly, and I cannot get enough. Saddle your horses and head to the health food store, because I think this may be the answer to life. I mix it with my Dr. H Facial Toner morning and night for added hydration and to free myself of the shackles of blemishes and redness. I dilute my serums with it to better suit my sensitive skin. I put it around my eyes in the morning to refresh and de-poof. I put it in my nettle infusion/apple cider vinegar hair conditioner for help with dry scalp. I use it as a hair gel to add texture. I put it in my body oil for more moisture and better application. I slather my face with it when I’m wind-burned and chapped from the cold. Seriously. I use this stuff multiple times a day. It’s just one of those things, like coconut oil and apple cider vinegar, that does everything. Cannot get enough.
Vert Beauty: Quality Denver Organic Beauty Shoppings

This past weekend, I met with two lovely ladies that I met through my favorite blog ever (except The Goat, of course). We visited Vert Beauty, a new organic beauty store in Denver, located in the Highlands neighborhood on 32nd St. It was a fantastic time, and we prattled on and on about our favorites, what we’ve tried and haven’t, what’s on the wish list. Courtney recommended the May Lindstrom Problem Solver mask to me (which unfortunately, Vert doesn’t carry), and I’m even more excited to try this out after seeing her flawless skin! Maybe will be my next monthly purchase.

Of course, I was too excited and overwhelmed and yapping about this product and that, so I didn’t take any photos of Vert- next time!! It is beautifully done, the whole shop. I did, however, take pictures of my spoils! See carnage below.
IMG_5279
Vert carries many brands that aren’t available in any other store in Colorado. I think CV Skinlabs may be one of them. I have read lots about this brand and have always thought it would be perfect for my dry, sensitive skin. I bought the Body Repair Lotion. It is fairly expensive, so I have been using it sparingly. So far, it is working incredibly well. I got it primarily to use on my hands, which have been so dry and torn up by kitty claws lately that not even my usual Weleda Skin Food was helping. I also got it for my gentleman friend to try on his keratosis pilaris.
I’ve been using the lotion on my hands about twice a day, and they are finally smooth and soft. Even the cat scratches have smoothed over and look like they probably won’t scar; I scar easily! Will see how this stuff goes, and I’ve been trying it on razor burn as well. As excited as I am, it’s only been about three days! Will keep you posted on effects on KP as well, if I can, though the gentleman friend isn’t too diligent with his skin care!
I also got two other things- the Osmia Organics Rose Clay Facial Soap, that I am totally obsessed with and reviewed in a previous post, and the Ilia Beauty Illuminator, in Polka Dots and Moon Beams.
IMG_5281
The luminizer is my first product from Ilia, and I strayed away from my usual RMS Beauty Living Luminizer because it was sold out. (Though, being the junkie that I am, I was pretty excited to try something new anyway!!) The product comes in a tube, and I think I prefer this method of application to dipping fingers into a jar. However, it’s the only thing I prefer about it and will probably go back to RMS once I use up the Ilia.
IMG_5288
The Ilia luminizer is quite a hard consistency, and it really doesn’t have that greasy, dewy look that I want from a luminizer, like the RMS has. It isn’t sparkly, which is great, but it’s so, so subtle, that I can barely tell that I’m wearing it. And forget about wearing it out at night; it’s basically invisible in low light. I will, however, compare application techniques for day-time wear and will share if I find a better method for more impact with this product.
So that’s about it. In other news, my foster kitty got adopted, and to a wonderful family that he picked out himself! Work has been quite busy, but I’m hoping to enrich my evenings with some dog training and sauerkraut making. Wish me luck.
7 thoughts on “Updates and Beauty Haul

  1. OMG your DIY’s with Aloe Vera Gel need a separate post so I can bookmark it 🙂 I should really buy some online on Amazon! I am using the CV Skinlabs Skin Balm (the tiny tube) on my lips currently, and love the thickness. This is the only thing that has been able to help me this past winter. Come Summer, it might be a little too heavy/greasy though. Their products are quite expensive though! I do want to try their Rescue Relief Spray next. It’s so cool you’re in CO area and get to visit physical boutiques that sell green beauty products. Have you visited the R.L. Linden shop yet?

    I have an unopened box of Osmia Organics Black Clay Soap, a little scared of using it (of putting soap on my face). Have you tried it?

    Thanks so much for the honest reviews!

    Ruhi

    1. Ruhi-
      I really just squirt some aloe and toner in my hand, press together, then press into the skin! I’m sure I could find plenty to say about it in a post, but not so sure anyone else would appreciate it! 😀

      I haven’t beeen to the RL Linden shop yet, but sampled some of their products at Vert. They seem lovely, so I’ll have to go make my way over there.

      I’d really like to try the CV SKinlabs Rescue Relief Spray as well. I struggle with a dry, itchy scalp in the winter, and the spray sounds like it would really help! I’ve actually put the body lotion on my scalp a few times as well, and it did help and was not too greasy!

      Ruhi, you gotta try the Osmia facial soap! It is magical! I had a sample of the black clay one, and it lasted me over a month. It was a bit too drying for me for every day use (what with winter, dry Colorado air, and sensitive skin), so I just used it as a deep cleansing treatment a couple times a week. BUT, I really loved it, and am quite devoted to the Rose Clay Facial Soap! I wrote a bit more about it here: https://goatorganic.wordpress.com/2015/01/18/osmia-organics-review/

      Let me know if you try it!

      Silvy

      1. Silvy, Hihi. What I meant is, sorry for not being clear earlier, “different ways of incorporating Aloe Vera into your overall beauty routine”, but yes, I know I tend to get excited over the craziest things, and can spend hours reading about green beauty…I have a feeling you’re pretty much the same way 🙂

        Oh, yes, I think the Rescue Relief Spray would be great for the scratchy scalp issues….maybe any aloe vera based toner would be good? I should actually give it a try, since my dandruff has been a little out of control due to the dryness. However, regular hair oil massage and shampooing does seem to help quite a bit.

        Thanks so much on the feedback re: Osmia Soap. I will take your word for it, and pop it open during the Summers. I got one in last years’ ANFGB Goodebox, and haven’t yet indulged in it. I think a couple of times a week sounds good…even I hate drying up my skin unnecessarily, and quite loyal to my Tatcha cleansers (I swear by them, if I don’t use it at least once daily, I feel like my inflammations start acting up).

        Ruhi xx

    2. Oh!! I see now! That’s a fantastic idea! I have been using aloe vera for just about everything (including DIY hair toner, as you mentioned :))! Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. I love your blog, your posts are amazing! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

Leave a Reply

