John Masters Organics: Rose & Apricot Hair Milk

The “Down and Dirty,” as they say
 IMG_3066
Recommended? Yes, highly
For whom? Anyone, though better suited to finer hair types. If you’ve got greasy roots, maybe focus the product on your ends.
What can I expect? It’s hard to overdo it with this product, so don’t worry about your hair getting greasy. The JM Hair Milk provides lightweight hydration. Especially if you apply it on dry hair, the hair will just drink it in.
Is it stinky? It has a really, really light scent that does not linger at all. Since I don’t wash my hair every day, in colder months, I’ll actually apply this daily, or multiple times a day. The scent builds up a bit more then, but still isn’t cloying. I’d say rose/apricot is a fair description.
Price? Solidly mid-range at $26 for 4 fl. oz.
Where can I buy it? John Masters products are widely available, though most places don’t carry the full line. This product is available in some Ulta and health food stores. Online, it’s available at the following sites: Ulta, Amazon, and the John Master website.
How to use: I start with a small amount (maybe half gold dubloon-sized and my hair is just past my shoulders) and massage the product between my hands to get all over my palms and fingers. I then work it into my ends, then the length of my hair, and finally any remaining product into my roots and scalp.
The finer points
Now that my hair is getting longer, I’m having to think more about the long-hair things that I haven’t had to for the past few years. Take, for example: do I look more scary with my hair all wet out of the shower and in my face like this? Or, the following questions that haunt me almost every night: is my hair long enough yet for a lady beard? A braided lady beard? These latter questions become especially important in the winter time.
In addition to potentially keeping my face warmer, longer hair is a bit harder to manage in the winter, as it gets dry. This I know, and my previous solution was Phyto Dry Hair Hydrating Day Cream. It doesn’t weigh my fine hair down, or coat it- my hair seemed to absorb it rather. The ingredients look ok too. Animal testing concerns aside, I think that this is a good product. Animal testing concerns in the forefront, since this is a bigger company that likely sells in China, they likely participate in the associated, mandated animal testing. It’s also really expensive.
So, here I was, on the lookout, crow’s nest of my hair pirate ship, lady beard pending, and along sails John Masters Organics Rose & Apricot Hair Milk. The marketing alone is genius. (Do I want to eat it? Or put it in my hair? A common question: think avocado, honey, coconut oil hair mask.) It was on sale at my local co-op. I couldn’t resist and am happy to report that I’ve found a suitable (and more affordable) alternative to the Phyto. (Now I’m no good at math, but have a look: JM is $26 for 4 fl. oz.; Phyto is $29 for 1.7 fl. oz.)
The consistency is more pleasant and easy to use than I think a “milk” would be. The Hair Milk has the consistency of a thicker lotion and is not runny at all. (See very attractive image below.) I’ve been using this product all winter, and I love how it prevents snarled, crispy ends. Keeps my hair luscious and all that. Though I’ll surely be using it less in the warmer months, I’ll still certainly keep it on hand for my ends, especially right after washing, and smoothing down frizzies while keeping my volume going.
IMG_3067
Leave a Reply

